Over 14 million licensed drivers travel throughout Florida. The roads are small and crowded, leaving roadways ripe for accidents caused by distracted drivers. Just because you’re a good driver doesn’t mean everyone else on the road is equally as good. If you own a car, car insurance is a must. How much coverage do you need? The cheapest auto insurance in Florida is a complex and confusing set of standards. At times, the laws are downright contradicting according to this website. Here is a straightforward guide for everything you need to know about this coverage.
Minimum Coverage Amount
Florida has one of the highest automobile insurance rates in all 50 states. Like all states, Florida car insurance is a must-have. One of the handfuls of no-fault states, each driver is responsible for their own medical bills and damages in the event of an accident.
Many insurance companies strongly recommend collision coverage, but it’s not required in Florida. The minimum coverage required by Florida state law to maintain a license and registration is as followed.
- $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
- $10,000 property damage liability
Cheap car insurance Florida drivers purchase doesn’t require additional coverage. However, most drivers prefer to carry additional policies, such as Uninsured Motorist and Comprehensive Collision. Florida has one of the highest numbers of uninsured drivers in the country. Floridians can protect themselves by opting for additional coverage.
No-Fault State – What Does it Mean?
A No-Fault state doesn’t mean that no one is at fault when accidents happen. It simply means that each driver will file a claim with their own insurance company to cover their own bills. Unlike other at-fault states, FL auto insurance laws don’t allow for drivers to use one another to recoup their losses. However, there are a few strict exceptions when it comes to situations such as permanent injury. Florida is one of only twelve no-fault states in the country. Coincidentally, they have one of the highest accident rates, as well. Without the no-fault law, a lot of motorists would be filing lawsuits against one another, frivolous or not.
Insurance Rate Factors
Florida is in the top ten for highest car insurance premiums. Your premium is decided on a variety of factors, including the following information.
- Age, gender, marital status
- Model and year of car
- How many miles you drive per year
- Driving record
Floridians also have to consider their credit rating when determining how expensive their car premium will be. When it’s time to renew your policy, be sure to discuss with your insurer any discounts they may offer. Discounts may include safety features on the car or taking a defensive driving course. By doing so, you can guarantee that you receive the cheapest car insurance in Florida from https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/. While Florida insurance requirements are some of the laxest, drivers can still lose their license and face fines for not having at least the bare minimum coverage.